Seeking Wombs For Rebirths

Lin Htet AUNG

Myanmar〡2021〡Exp〡B&W〡25 min〡Myanmar〡Taiwan Premiere
✧ 2022 Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen FF (International Short Film Festival Oberhausen)
✧ 2021 Bangkok ASEAN Film Festival

A boy went to a town. He went to find his next life.

Director

Lin Htet AUNG

Lin Htet AUNG is a 98 born filmmaker and video artist based in Myanmar. In his earlier days, he wrote avant-garde poems and published underground poetry books. He started making short films in 2017. In 2018 and 2019, he won Best Film Awards with SILENCE! and SHOWER AT 1 AM at University Students’ Film Festival, respectively. In 2020, his experimental short film ESTATE won “Silver Screen Award–Best Director” at Southeast Asian Short Film Competition at 31st Singapore International Film Festival ( 31st SGIFF ) and “Best Creative Sound Award“ at Wathann Competition at 10th Wathann Film Festival. In 2021, his video artwork LAST NIGHT I DREAMT OF HAVING SEXUAL INTERCOURSE WITH MY DAD’S DOG was shown at SCREENSAVER_ART EXHIBITION. He is now working on his next short film project ONCE UPON A TIME, THERE WAS A MOM. This short film project won a grant of SGIFF Southeast Asian-Short Film Grant (SEA-SHORTS) 2021.

11.07 ㊀ 12:30〡台南新光影城 4 廳〡 Q&A session with the Director
11.10 ㊃ 15:20〡台南新光影城 4 廳
同場放映:《三重渡》《入世》《梅婆》
Buying Tickets

看似一單純緬甸青年返鄉之旅,卻被創作者以極小限、低成本的攝製方法,將緬甸五十年軍政府獨裁、短暫民主時期再到一夕政變的歷史現實,以家庭成員外掛一間家屋的空間,譜寫成一首橫跨過去卻回應為未來的國族寓言,影像之詩。

SEEKING WOMBS FOR REBIRTHS is about the things which happen between death and the time of being alive. During Covid, I suffered difficulties in breathing almost every night. I have often got a feeling , like an illusion or reality, that I am dying and I started having interest in the symbol of death. Death is inevitable in life and it’s a door for the next life in Buddhism. During that transformation period, all past, present and future integrate and between those past, present and future choices, I found conflicts concerned with inevitable guilt, acceptance. I want to show that there are problems not only when you are alive but also after your death too.
During that period of time, our country has overcome sixty years of dictatorship and on the path of democracy for five years. But because of a sudden coup, I start getting confused whether we are in the past or going to the future or in the present. Even People, who seem to have evolved political opinions during the democratization period, lose their different political opinions at the time of coup. There is chaos everywhere. It seems like oppressors and victims are seeking revenge in another life. It seems like a problem between life and death. It’s a time where a political mess is happening because of the coup, I shot it with my relatives in my house. I believe people will be able to see the political trauma of my country.

相關文章與座談

尋找子宮轉生

敖林德

緬甸〡2021〡實驗〡黑白〡25 min〡緬甸語發音
✧2022 德國奧柏豪森國際短片影展
✧2021 泰國曼谷東協影展

一個男孩去到一個小鎮,尋找自己的下輩子。

導演

敖林德

電影工作者和錄像藝術家。1998年生於緬甸。早年寫前衛詩歌,出版地下詩集,2017年開始製作短片。2018、2019年憑藉《Silence!》 和《Shower at 1 AM》獲得大學學生影展的最佳影片獎。2020年,他的實驗短片《Estate》獲得第31屆新加坡國際電影節-東南亞短片競賽「銀幕獎-最佳導演」和第10屆瓦森電影節的「最佳創意音效獎」。2021年,他的影像作品《Last Night I Dreamt of Having Sexual Intercourse With My Dad’s Dog》在SCREENSAVER藝術展展出。目前正在製作短片作品《Once Upon A Time, There Was A Mom》,而這部短片也獲得2021年新加坡國際電影節-東南亞短片獎的資助。

11.07 ㊀ 12:30〡台南新光影城 4 廳〡 影人座談
11.10 ㊃ 15:20〡台南新光影城 4 廳〡 影人座談
同場放映:《三重渡》《入世》《梅婆》
購票連結

《尋找子宮轉生》是一個發生在生與死之間的故事。在新冠肺炎期間,我幾乎每晚都感到呼吸困難。當時我總有一種自己正瀕臨死亡的感覺,既夢幻又現實,因此我開始對「死亡」這個符號產生興趣。死亡在生命中是不可避免的,在佛教中,它是通往來世的一扇門,在生死轉換的過程中,過去、現在和未來都融合在一起。在不同時空中所做的選擇,我發現衝突的背後,是不可避免的內疚與釋懷。我想展現這些不只在活著的時候出現,死後仍須面對的問題。
我的國家結束了六十年的獨裁政權,才踏上蹣跚學步的民主道路約莫五年。然而一場突如其來的政變,我開始搞不懂自己是回到過去、活在當下、亦是未來。那些在民主時期培養出新政治觀點的人,政變時卻不再發聲,混亂四處蔓延。壓迫者和受害者像是交換時空,同時對彼此報復,如同我提到過的,生與死之間的問題。這部作品是我在這段政變導致的混亂時期,和家裡的親戚一起拍攝的,希望大家能看見我國的政治創傷。

相關文章與座談