Tugging Diary

YAN Wai Yin

Hong Kong〡2021〡Doc〡Color, B&W〡16 min〡Cantonese
✧ 2022 Awarded Young Jury Award, 58th Pesaro Film Festival, Marche, Italy.
✧ 2022 IFFR—International Film Festival Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Netherlands.
✧ 2021 EXiS—Experimental Film & Video Festival in Seoul, Korea.

TUGGING DIARY documents a footbridge in Hong Kong over the year between August 2019 to January 2021. Due to social unrest and various uncertainties, both the internet and physical spaces act as critical communication platforms for information to be circulated in the community more widely and rapidly outside of the existing mainstream media. As time goes by, these materials are continuously altered, some were renewed, while the others were removed, covered with paint, or overlaid by other information.

Director

YAN Wai Yin
YAN Wai Yin (b.1994) works and lives in Hong Kong. YAN excels at the juxtaposition and insertion of literary texts in narratives. Through shifting personal observations and the temporal, emotional distance in different texts, YAN inscribes quotidian fragments of memories lingering in space and objects. Her film LOCALIZED BLINDNESS (2019) was awarded the Best Experimental Award at the 20th South Taiwan Film Festival, TUGGING DIARY (2020) was awarded at Kaohsiung Film Festival and Festival des Cinémas Différents et Expérimentaux de Paris. Recent exhibitions and screenings include: IFFR (Netherlands), EMAF (Germany), Videoex (Switzerland), Image Forum (Japan), EXiS (Korea), and TIVA-ANIMA (Taiwan).

11.08 ㊁ 12:40〡台南新光影城 4 廳
11.11 ㊄ 15:30〡台南新光影城 4 廳
同場放映:《愁青》《眠眠雨季》《奢侈凡夜》《土星頻道》
Buying Tickets

影片以空間的記憶和痕跡帶領我們回溯一個特定的時空及狀態。從街頭風景的細微差異到喃喃底語的吐訴,不同材質的疊加,聲音的設計,都指向已斷裂的歷史。影像美學的實踐與內在的抵抗連結,這些重組是見證也是情感的封存。
If there was no pandemic, nor the deadline for another work at that time, this work probably would not have existed. It's been three years. The bridge in the film has been almost fully painted in bright white since a few days ago (written on July 26, 2022), with pink railings. All the nylon strings which used to hang paper lanterns are gone. The children's drawings are gone, and the notes that everyone wrote to each other are gone as well. I'm not sure if my home has gone along together, but I did feel the weight of “home” at that time.

相關文章與座談

日 ”””’;”””’ 記

忻慧姸

香港〡2021〡紀錄〡彩色、黑白〡16 min〡粵語發音
✧ 2022 第58屆義大利貝沙洛影展 評審團獎
✧ 2022 鹿特丹國際影展
✧ 2021 EXiS首爾實驗與錄像影展

《日 ”””’;”””’ 記》記錄一條行人天橋從2019年8月至2021年1月的變化,由於社會矛盾與種種突發事件的不確定性,網絡及實體空間各自在這段時間成為了並行不悖的傳輸平臺,讓訊息能夠在已有的主流傳媒外流通於社區各處。隨著時間的流逝,這些資料不斷改變,有些會被更新,另一些會被去除,塗上油漆或被其他訊息覆蓋。

導演

忻慧姸
忻慧姸,生於1994年,生活及工作於香港。擅於選用文學語句並置穿插於敘述過程中,透過轉移個人觀察與不同文本的時空情感距離,刻劃殘留於空間物件中的日常瑣碎記憶。作品《局部失明》(2019) 獲第二十屆南方影展最佳實驗片,《日 ”””’;”””’ 記》(2020)先後於台灣高雄電影節及巴黎差異與實驗影展暨國際競賽獲獎。近期展覽及放映包括:鹿特丹國際影展(荷蘭),歐洲媒體藝術節(德國),Videoex(瑞士),Image Forum(日本),EXiS(韓國)及台灣國際錄像藝術展ANIMA等。

11.08 ㊁ 12:40〡台南新光影城 4 廳〡 影人座談
11.11 ㊄ 15:30〡台南新光影城 4 廳
同場放映:《愁青》《眠眠雨季》《奢侈凡夜》《土星頻道》
購票連結

若然沒有疫情,或者當時原定創作作品的限期,大概不會有這部作品的出現。不經不覺已三年,影片中那條橋在幾天前(寫於2022年7月26日)已被近乎完全鬆上亮白色,配上粉紅色的欄杆,從前在橫樑上掛着中秋燈籠的尼龍繩也不在了。小孩的畫作不在了,大家互相問好的便條貼也不在了,我不太確定我的家是不是也不在了,但我確實在那時很實在地感受到家的重量。

相關文章與座談