When the Sea Sends Forth a Forest

LIU Guangli

France〡2020〡Doc〡B&W〡21 min〡Mandarin (Teochew dialect)
✧ 2021 First Prize, Festival International de Videoarte, Buenos Aires, Argentina
✧ 2021 Price Golden Nica (Computer Animation), Ars Electronica, Linz, Austria
✧ 2021 Golden Key for best short film, Kassel Dokfest, Kassel, Germany

Through a 3D virtual universe simulated by a game engine intertwined with historical pictures, a lost moment of history can be experienced. The story revolves around the memory of a Chinese survivor of Khmer Rouge. This tragedy, which took the lives of 2 million people, continues to reshape our present in virtue of today’s narration.

Director

LIU Guangli
LIU Guangli was born in 1990 in Lengshuijiang, China. He graduated from Le Fresnoy–Studio national des arts contemporains in 2020. Passionate about image-making, He has developed an art practice around painting, video art, 3D animation, and virtual reality. His works attempt to question how the digital medium fits into contemporary storytelling and the reconstruction of our collective memory.

11.04 ㊄ 13:00〡台南新光影城 4 廳
11.12 ㊅ 19:50〡台南新光影城 4 廳〡 Q&A session with the Director
同場放映:《島影》《顫抖著》《屯門往事》
Buying Tickets

影像融合歷史檔案和3D動畫,敘述由一位紅色高綿的親歷者展開,隨著畫面的前進和閃爍,口述者的苦難在逃亡視角和情緒化配樂下被重構,導演選擇拋離真實,在模糊記憶和虛構的歷史場景之間穿梭,建造出一個充滿感染力的空間,很有實驗性。

An encounter with a forgotten community in Chinese history was the starting point of this project. Over time, I gradually established an image of French Indochina in the 1970s. It isn’t about judging history through the mixture of 3d and archive, but to provide a space in which the past can seek to become present again.

相關文章與座談

直到海裡長出森林

劉廣隸

法國〡2020〡紀錄〡黑白〡21 min〡潮州方言發音
✧ 2021 阿根廷布宜諾斯艾利斯國際獨立影展 首獎
✧ 2021 奧地利林茲電子藝術節
✧ 2021 德國卡塞爾紀錄片及錄像節 最佳短片

一段近乎缺失的歷史,經由遊戲引擎類比的3D環境與歷史影像的交織,在虛擬中重新發生。故事圍繞著一位赤棉的華裔倖存者的回憶展開,這場奪去200萬人生命的悲劇,透過今天的敘述,不斷重塑著我們的當下。

導演

劉廣隸
劉廣隸,1990年出生於湖南省冷水江市。2020年畢業於Le Fresnoy法國當代藝術影像研究中心。他的藝術實踐涉及繪畫、影像藝術、3D動畫和虛擬實境等領域,作品常試圖探索數位媒介如何影響我們的當代敘述和集體記憶的重建。

11.04 ㊄ 13:00〡台南新光影城 4 廳
11.12 ㊅ 19:50〡台南新光影城 4 廳〡 影人座談
同場放映:《島影》《顫抖著》《屯門往事》
購票連結

影片始於我和中國歷史上一個被遺忘的群體的相遇。漸漸地我在自己內心構築了一個70年代的法屬印度支那的形象。它並不是通過融合3D技術和檔案資料來評判歷史,而是給出一個空間,在那裡能夠尋求重現我們的過去。

相關文章與座談